3434500554_391f463ffb_zThe World Economic Forum on Europe and Central Asia is held in Vienna, bringing together more than 500 leaders from business, government, academia and civil society from over 67 nations. The meeting is held from 8 to 9 June under the theme Expanding the Frontiers of Innovation. It is the ninth World Economic Forum meeting held in Austria, an important gateway between Europe and Central Asia. You can follow the debates live on the Forum’s Livestream channel. The Livestream programme is below.

Wednesday 8 June, 09.00 – 09.10 CEST (07.00 – 07.10GMT)

Opening of the 2011 World Economic Forum on Europe and Central Asia

Welcome by

  • Werner Faymann, Federal Chancellor of Austria
  • Heinz Fischer, President of Austria
  • Klaus Schwab, Founder and Executive Chairman, World Economic Forum

Wednesday 8 June, 09.10 – 10.00 CEST (07.10 – 08.00GMT)

Expanding the Frontiers of Innovation

In an era of rapid economic, political and social change, how can innovation across geographies, sectors and generations help the region regain its competitive edge in today’s new global reality?

The following dimensions will be addressed:
– Regional diversity and the role of innovation
– Policies, strategies and resources driving competitiveness
– Disruptive innovation and regional game-changers

  • Mykola Azarov, Prime Minister of Ukraine
  • Herman Gref, Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer, Sberbank, Russian Federation; Co-Chair of the World Economic Forum on Europe and Central Asia
  • Sir Michael Rake, Chairman, BT Group, United Kingdom; Co-Chair of the World Economic Forum on Europe and Central Asia
  • Michael Spindelegger, Vice-Chancellor and Federal Minister of European and International Affairs of Austria
  • Andrew Thompson, Chief Executive Officer, Proteus Biomedical, USA; Technology Pioneer

Chaired by

  • Klaus Schwab, Founder and Executive Chairman, World Economic Forum

Wednesday 8 June, 10.00 – 10.10CEST (08.00 – 08.10GMT)

Social Entrepreneurs Award – Europe 2011

Social Entrepreneurs implement innovative solutions to social and ecological problems with financially sustainable models. The Schwab Foundation announces the 2011 European Social Entrepreneurs of the Year, representing different sectors and countries across the continent.

Presented by

  • Hilde Schwab, Chairperson and Co-Founder, Schwab Foundation for Social Entrepreneurship, Switzerland

Wednesday 8 June, 10.30 – 11.30CEST (08.30 – 09.30GMT)

Central Asia at a Turning Point

While the recovery in Central Asia gains gradual momentum, internal challenges and external risks are still threatening growth. What are Central Asia’s strategies in today’s new reality?

The following dimensions will be addressed:
– Rule of law and transparency
– Soft and hard infrastructure
– Human capital
– Natural and mineral resource scarcity

  • Victor L. L. Chu, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, First Eastern Investment Group, Hong Kong SAR; Member of the Foundation Board of the World Economic Forum
  • Tuvakmammed Japarov, Deputy Chairman of the Cabinet of Ministers of Turkmenistan
  • Pierre Morel, EU Special Representative for Central Asia and for the Crisis in Georgia, European Council of the European Union, Brussels
  • Yerbol Orynbayev, Deputy Prime Minister of Kazakhstan
  • Roza Otunbayeva, Acting President of Kyrgyzstan
  • Emomali Rahmon, President of Tajikistan

Moderated by

  • Alexei Pushkov, Author, Anchor and Executive Producer, Postscript TV Show, TV-Center (TVC), Russian Federation

Wednesday 8 June, 11.45 – 12.45CEST (09.45 – 10.45GMT)

The Arab Spring: Impact and Implications

How will the popular uprisings in the Middle East and North Africa reshape political agendas and business strategies, both within and beyond the region?

The following dimensions will be addressed:
– Institutional reform
– Impact on politics of the region
– Potential ripple effect beyond the Arab world
– Security and migration flows

  • Khalid Abdulla-Janahi, Honorary Chairman, Vision 3, United Arab Emirates; Regional Agenda Council on the Middle East & North Africa
  • Mustapha Kamel Nabli, Governor of the Central Bank of Tunisia
  • Ahmet M. Oren, Chief Executive Officer, Ihlas Holding, Turkey
  • Tarik M. Yousef, Dean, Dubai School of Government, United Arab Emirates; Regional Agenda Council on the Middle East & North Africa
  • Valdis Zatlers, President of Latvia

Chaired by

  • Raghida Dergham, Senior Diplomatic Correspondent and Columnist, Al Hayat, USA; Global Agenda Council on Conflict Prevention

Wednesday 8 June, 14.00 – 15.00CEST (12.00 – 13.00GMT)

Stress Tests for Europe

In the wake of fears of further bailouts in the Eurozone, disagreements over foreign policy and schisms between Eurozone and non-Eurozone members, how can Europe overcome the stresses and strains that are defining today’s new European reality?

The following dimensions will be addressed:
– Fiscal stresses
– Core versus periphery
– Foreign policy
– Rise of nationalism

  • Victor Halberstadt, Professor of Public Economics, Leiden University, Netherlands; Global Agenda Council on Fiscal Crises
  • Mark Leonard, Director, European Council on Foreign Relations (ECFR), United Kingdom; Young Global Leader; Regional Agenda Council on Europe & Central Asia
  • Igor Lukšic, Prime Minister of Montenegro
  • Davide Serra, Founding and Managing Partner, Algebris Investments (UK), United Kingdom; Young Global Leader

Moderated by

  • Ian Phillips, News Director for Eastern and Central Europe, The Associated Press (AP), Czech Republic

Wednesday 8 June, 15.30 – 16.30 CEST (13.30 – 14.30GMT)

Spotlight on Russia

As Russia embarks on a new phase of political and economic change, what new partnership opportunities will emerge?

The following dimensions will be addressed:
– Presidential elections in 2012
– The road to a knowledge economy
– Investment climate
– Institutional trust and support

  • Anatoly Ballo, Deputy Chairman and Member of the Board, State Corporation Bank for Development and Foreign Economic Affairs (Vnesheconombank), Russian Federation
  • Vadim Belyaev, Chief Executive Officer and Member of the Board, OTKRITIE Financial Corporation, Russian Federation
  • Kairat Kelimbetov, Minister of Economic Development and Trade of Kazakhstan; Co-Chair of the World Economic Forum on Europe and Central Asia
  • Tigran Sargsyan, Prime Minister of Armenia
  • Wolfgang Schüssel, Chancellor of Austria (2000-2006)

Moderated by

  • Charles Grant, Director, Centre for European Reform, United Kingdom; Regional Agenda Council on Europe & Central Asia

Wednesday 8 June, 17.00 – 18.15CEST (15.00 – 16.15GMT)

The New Energy Architecture

The tragic events in Japan question nuclear power as a safe, clean source of energy. Along with this, the turmoil in North Africa and the Middle East is accelerating the rise of oil prices. What new technologies and policy initiatives will accelerate transition to a low-carbon future and shape the new energy architecture for the region?

The following dimensions will be addressed:
– Renewable energy supply
– Smart grids
– Return on investment

  • Atul Arya, Senior Vice-President, Research and Analysis, IHS, USA; Global Agenda Council on Climate Change
  • Yurii Boiko, Minister of Energy and Coal Industry of Ukraine
  • Lady Barbara Judge, Chairman Emeritus, United Kingdom Atomic Energy Authority, United Kingdom
  • Andreas Nauen, Chief Executive Officer, REpower Systems, Germany
  • Kandeh Yumkella, Director-General, United Nations Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO), Vienna; Global Agenda Council on Climate Change

Chaired by

  • Armen Sarkissian, President and Founder, Eurasia House International, United Kingdom; Global Agenda Council on Energy Security

Thursday 9 June, 09.00 – 10.15CEST (07.00 – 08.15GMT)

Regional Game-Changers: Breaking the Mould

Who are the region’s disruptors and entrepreneurs? What can be done to harness their creativity and enable growth?

The following dimensions will be addressed:
– Fostering an innovative culture
– New media, IT, health technologies
– Enabling policies and research

  • Doreen Lorenzo, President, frog design, USA
  • Mazlan Othman, Director, United Nations Office for Outer Space Affairs (UNOOSA), Vienna; Global Agenda Council on Space Security
  • Reed Paget, Director, Belu Water, United Kingdom; Social Entrepreneur
  • Josef Penninger, Scientific Director, Institute of Molecular Biotechnology, Austrian Academy of Sciences, Austria
  • Jim Hagemann Snabe, Co-Chief Executive Officer, SAP, Germany; Co-Chair of the World Economic Forum on Europe and Central Asia

Moderated by

  • Adam Bly, Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Seed Media Group, USA; Young Global Leader; Global Agenda Council on Design Innovation

Thursday 9 June, 10.45 – 12.00 CEST (08.45 – 10.00GMT)

The Energy Security Equation

In the wake of the Fukushima nuclear crisis and increased volatility in oil prices, rising concerns about alternative sources and the state of the global economy, what is the energy security equation for Europe and Central Asia?

The following dimensions will be addressed:
– Oil price volatility
– Diversification of gas supplies
– Future of nuclear power

  • Abdalla Salem El Badri, Secretary-General, Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC), Vienna
  • Yerbol Orynbayev, Deputy Prime Minister of Kazakhstan
  • Gerhard Roiss, Chief Executive Officer and Chairman of the Executive Board, OMV, Austria
  • Youcef Yousfi, Minister of Energy and Mines of Algeria

Moderated by

  • Ryan Chilcote, Correspondent, Europe, Middle East and Africa, Bloomberg Television, United Kingdom 

Thursday 9 June, 12.15 – 13.15CEST (10.15 – 11.15GMT)

Unlocking Europe and Central Asia’s Potential

What risks and trends are shaping the competitive landscape of Europe and Central Asia, and what policies and strategies are required to drive innovation and future growth?

The following dimensions will be addressed:
– Driving regional innovation and competitiveness
– Managing the resource equation
– Building risk resilience

  • Bozidar Djelic, Deputy Prime Minister for European Integration of Serbia
  • Connie Hedegaard, Commissioner, Climate Action, European Commission, Brussels
  • Kairat Kelimbetov, Minister of Economic Development and Trade of Kazakhstan; Co-Chair of the World Economic Forum on Europe and Central Asia
  • Jim Hagemann Snabe, Co-Chief Executive Officer, SAP, Germany; Co-Chair of the World Economic Forum on Europe and Central Asia

Closing Remarks by

  • Stephen Kinnock, Director, Head of Europe and Central Asia, World Economic Forum

Chaired by

  • Robin Niblett, Director, Chatham House, United Kingdom; Global Agenda Council on Europe